On Birthdays and Celebrations

Luxury Venice Orient Express in Gare d'Austerlitz.

Image via Wikipedia

My birthday is coming up, and the proverbial question never fails to come up: “What do you want for your birthday?” This is always a hard one to answer, because even though it’s fun to get “stuff” and  to open packages & all that, I never know what I REALLY want. At least not in the material world. In fact, I don’t need stuff. I do want things tho, but these are things that I don’t think anybody can buy.

What do I want? I want to lose those last 5 lbs that have been hanging on forever; I want to see my children happy and stable in their lives; I want to stop dreaming about the “next best place” I’d rather live in and be content in the here & now; I’d like to actually FIND that place–wherever it may be–so I can stop dreaming about it; I’d like to travel around Europe and get to know the locals; I’d like to go back to Paris and sit out on a sidewalk cafe; I’d like to become fluent in French again; I’d like to see my mother and ask her advise about many things; I’d like to be able to listen to the news on the radio without getting worked up and upset; I’d like to stop waking up with a neck ache every morning; I’d like to travel on the Orient Express; I’d like for people to be more generous and caring; I’d like for justice to prevail on this earth (where we can see it happen); I’d like to stop worrying about the future of the world in general and my family in particular; I’d like to know that whatever I’m doing is actually relevant.

Those are some of the things I want. Now all you have to do is go out and find them, put a bright ribbon around them and send them my way. Happy birthday to me!

One thought on “On Birthdays and Celebrations

Comments are closed.