Further Thoughts on Being Retired

A view from my window

A view from my window

Have I said how much I LOVE retirement? Well, in case I haven’t said it enough: I LOVE RETIREMENT!

It’s been almost six months now and I couldn’t be happier. After a short adjustment period, I think I’ve found a comfortable routine: I still get up early with my husband (5AM) to go to the gym with him, then I come home, do laundry, pick-up around the house, have breakfast, then get on the computer–as I’m doing now–to check emails, read blogs, write blogs (I have a few others… http://artsnquilts.blogspot.com, http://haydemon.tumbler.com), check my online sales (http://www.etsy.com/shop/artsnqilts), check other people’s online sales, then usually sew.

It is very refreshing to be the “master of one’s domain” for a change; I can sew all day long if I want to, I can play around online if I want to, I can sit and read when I want to, or I can go out and visit the shops around town if I so wish; I can sit and watch TV, a movie, or listen to the radio while doing one chore or another. It is not the THINGS that I can do that I like so much, but the fact that I have the freedom to decide WHAT to do, WHEN to do it, and HOW to do it. I have no one breathing down my neck to get something done, or checking on my arrival time in the morning, departure time in the evening, or how long I take for lunch!

I have finally been able to join a quilt guild that meets during the day on weekdays, attend other events during the day that I would have otherwise missed, take that extended vacation so long overdue.

Opus

Some days I feel totally unproductive, and when my husband comes home at night and asks me, “what did you do today?” I don’t really know how to answer; but that’s OK. I don’t need to feel guilty about this anymore–although I have a feeling that he still feels the need to monitor my daily existence, because he fears I may get “bored” or even slightly depressed. But he couldn’t be farther from the truth!

What do I miss from my “work” life? Nothing at all. Well, maybe one thing: getting dressed up in outfits other than jeans, wearing jewelry and high heels. But I quickly get over it. I still hear from some of my old work “chums” from time to time; about the latest gossip, the latest drama unfolding. Life goes on at work, but I’m happy I’m not part of it anymore.

Snoozing

Now my constant companions are my three cats, Amber, Opus and Tara. They are the happiest with this new stage in their lives as well; now they have me around most of the time, and I can’t help but wonder how their lives must have changed as well. I do truly believe they are happier, since they following me around the house and set up stakes wherever I happen to be, my sewing room being their favorite spot.

A truly positive state of affairs all the way around!

